Getting Your Wedding Dress Stitched

Many a times, I’m a bit of DIY girl not because I enjoy making something, but because I get to be in complete control. I can control every little aspect related to the final product and often it works out cheaper than buying it. Yay!

In the recent past, I’ve gotten a lot of clothes made. I first get a rough sketch in my mind. Then go to the fabric store, get what I want and head to the tailor. Now, I love designing my clothes but I’m essentially not a fashion designer, so I spend some time, talking to the tailor about my design, he gets to work, and a few days later.. Ta-da! Happiness is made!

Now…bridal wear is expensive. Those beautiful dresses don’t always come moderately priced. So today I thought I’d share a sketch of a dress that you can get made, save up some money and then spend it on maybe some good food and booze or the honeymoon?

Anyway.. so here it is. Not a great sketch. But it serves the purpose.

Image

It’s a very feminine dress with slightly flared sleeves ending just above the elbow. I stitched a similar short dress where I kept the measurement of the dress very large when compared to my size and got a belt made separately to fit my waist. So when I put on the belt on the loose dress, it was an instant transformation!

Materials suggested: Georgette or Polyester or any light fabric and a lining fabric.

Body types: Regular, and pear shaped (petite upper body and larger lower body).

You can decide how flowy you want the bottom half of the dress to be. If you want it to be flowy, go with a larger measurement from the hips below. You can also decide whether or not you want a slit.

And lastly, find a good tailor! Sit down with him or her and discuss your dress in detail. Take his/her opinion into consideration about fabrics, stitch, etc. And ask him/her to keep give you a rough stitch. Once you know it fits well, go ahead for the final stitch.

And lastly, enjoy your saved money! 🙂

I seriously hope this helped someone.

Leave a Reply

